top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrinanda Mahdiyah Lestari

Second day of being the cutest exchange student xD

Updated: May 2, 2019

On the second day, we still had to get up early and gather under the apartelle. On this second day, we were told to gather near the education department room. Today, we will get the orientation about USI, starting from history, the names of departments at USI, as well as others such as USI's core values, institutional goals, USI's vision and others
Then after that, we are free until lunch. For lunch this time, I decided to fry the eggs. Because we have the limited food and incidentally the apartelle (where we live) is also close to the kitchen where students of catering usually practice their skills. In this kitchen, I can see and find ingredients that are very complete. Ranging from chicken, fish, beef, pork / bacon, to various fruits and vegetables, and others.
After lunch and Zuhr prayer, I and other sea teacher friends gathered again at the education department office to meet with ma'am Tin. After meeting with Ma'am Tin, we invited to hurry to the basic department. Here is the place where our cooperating school is, here there are kindergarten, elementary and high schools. The next difference that I found between Philippines and Indonesia is, high school in Indonesia is divided into two namely junior high school and senior high school. For junior high school it consists of grades 7 to 9, and for high school seniors from grades 10 to 12. However, in Philippines, high school turns out to join from grade 7 to 11/12 if I am not mistaken.
After arriving at the basic department / cooperating school, we first re-introduced ourselves and greeted official members of basic departments. After that, we were gathered in one class where there were several teachers who also joined us. As it turned out, the teachers were people who would become the cooperating teacher for Sea-Teacher delegates. That is the tutor for our student teacher when pre-service teaching practice takes place.
Basic education department
On this occasion my cooperating teacher was Ma'am Arlene D Leon. An English teacher who teaches all 9th grade in USI. After that, I was also notified if my buddy is Ma'am Ruffa Mae, a 5th year working student teacher at USI, majoring in English Language Education program. I only call Ruffa, without a miss or ma’am so we can get closer, even though she is older than me.
After meeting with cooperating teacher and buddy, I was invited to make observations in class taught by Ma'am Arlene, which I was accompanied by Ruffa as my buddy. Coincidentally at that time, the class that is taught by ma'am Arlene was having a formative test, so that I could only make observations on the condition of the class, and introducing my name to the students. Then, after making observations, I was also given the opportunity to examine students' answers in the previous formative test. I checked their answer sheet when I was in the library.
That day was the first day I visited the library in the basic department, and at that time I also met with other student teachers from various departments. Those I met were: Queennie from the Filipino, Lloyd, Kitkat majored in mathematics, JM from the sports education, Carol from English and another student teacher from the biology education.
While checking students' answers, Queennie said that there was students teacher from USI who were also participating in an exchange to Thailand, precisely at VRU. At that time, she said that there were friends who were at that time in Thailand and they only wanted to make a video call together, so I was also asked to take a video call with them. In the afternoon Feby and I walked around the apartelle and surroundings. And at that moment I realized that next to the apartelle was the museum of USI.

In the evening, I resumed to checking the students’ formative test as a young teacher.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My videos about Sea-Teacher program

Sea-Teacher program is my first International program that I ever joined. I met great people, educated people, enthusiastic people, kind people, and others. So based on my experience, I have an idea t

Suggestions for future improvements

For those who are involved in this program, I recommend to add the area of the Sea-Teacher practice. As we know, there are only 3 countries for being the place for exchange student teacher, they are I

bottom of page